CARE Minutes 6/21/18

Meeting Attendees:

Honey Miller, Mindy Hutcheson, Pascal Robin, Jennifer VanFleet, Jan Frederick,  Ashley Foster,   Barbara Sell, Garry Chambers, Helene Drothler, Jim Tucker, Katherine Noyes, Jeanne Ringe, Joyce Thomas,  Jennifer Wilson,  Audree Stephenson, Joyce Strange, Deborah Gessner, Taryn Herzog

Approval of Minutes

Minutes from 5/17/18 were accepted and approved


The financial report was submitted by Jan Frederick and accepted

We have secured the services of a bookkeeper to assist us with the financials

Old Business


  • Fund Raising Committee (Honey Miller chair) Gather after meeting tonight to organized and schedule time to make fund raising plan.
  • Nominating Committee (Katherine Noyes chair) Board member election to take place later in this meeting.

Shelter Report

Intakes (May & June)

254 animals taken into the shelter in May

195 animals taken into the shelter in June 1 to date

449 total intakes for May & June to date

Exits (May Only)

78 animals left the shelter in May

24 dogs being transported today to NJ

As of Tuesday, $1345 of $1422 has been raised for dog beds.  They have been ordered and will arrive in 4-6 weeks

Cage banks are done and will hopefully be in next week

Science Diet Program – application was denied because we do not have a year’s worth of data to submit.  By contacting them again we were able to get a partial discount on the food.  After a full year of data is submitted, we will get the full discount.

Jill is leaving the shelter so we are advertising for a new part time kennel technician

Annual Budget allocations and requests

Final vote June 28h

We should be in the clear at this point

Your presence at the county commission meeting is always appreciated

Dog Park Grant

Application has been finished and submitted

Our chance of receiving some sort of reward is looking good

If we receive the major award, our plan for this money is:

  • Earmark 4 acres on the landfill property adjacent to the shelter
  • This acreage would be divided into areas for shelter dogs, small dogs, large dogs and parking
  • The City of Dandridge has also applied for this grant

New Business

Upcoming Events

6/23    The Pointe of CAREing – Adoption event in combination with appreciation for our volunteers. No food truck available like we hoped so we will be giving $10 food vouchers for the grill at the marina dock.

6/23       Block Party Benefit for Girls, Inc. – 4 corners of W AJ Hwy & Merchants in Morristown

7/2         Pets Without Parents equipment pickup – With PWP closing at the end of the month we have the opportunity to get cages and other equipment. This is a great opportunity for us but we’ll need many volunteers, trucks and trailers to use for pickup. Shelter will be closed that day to free up staff to help. Time TBA

7/4         Baneberry Fourth of July Parade 11 AM

Nominating Committee

Katherine Noyes – Ballots were distributed and results tallied

Board of Directors was elected as follows:

  • President – Honey Miller
  • Vice President – Joyce Strange
  • Secretary – Mindy Hutcheson
  • Treasurer – Jan Frederick
  • Board Members at large – Jim Tucker, Drew Miller, Garry Chambers, Jennifer Wilson, Helene Drothler


Suggestion from Katherine Noyes:  Think about possibly opening a thrift store. PWP had one that was profitable. Open 3 days (Opposite of Second Source which is open Thurs, Fri., Sat.)

 Next Meeting: July 12th at 5:30 – Rescue Squad

 Committee Volunteers

Fundraising Committee:
Coordinator – Honey Miller
Volunteers – Francis Cooper, Keisha Fuller, Audree Stephenson

Grant Committee:
Coordinator – Jeanne Ringe
Volunteers – Katherine Noyes

Nominating Committee:
Coordinator – Katherine Noyes
Volunteers – Helene Drothler, Joyce Strange, Jim Tucker, Garry Chambers

Foster/Volunteer Committee:
Coordinator – Keisha Fuller
Volunteers – Helene Drothler, Joyce Strange, Mindy Hutcheson

Shopping Crew:
Coordinator – Kris Spencer
Volunteers –  Shelley King, Barbara Sell, Audree Stephenson,

Facilities Crew:
Coordinator – Kris Spencer
Volunteers – Mindy & Bryan Hutcheson, Katherine Noyes, Jim Tucker,                       Shelley King, Bobby Fuller, Jason Spencer, Chad Robin

Website Crew:
Kris Spencer, Pascal Robin, Mindy Hutcheson, Ashley Foster

Thank You Committee:
Coordinator – Open
Volunteers – Joyce Thomas, Sheila Boggs

Please note that this list is an ever changing document.  If you are interested in any of these committees, please let me know and I’ll be sure to add you to the list.  Thanks for all your support!

Mindy Hutcheson